Queen of the Virgins

So I just realized that so far out of all my books, released and soon to-be released, I’m at a count of 3 virgin heroines to two non-virgin heroines. I’m bringing this up because of a discussion I remember on a romance forum.

Some of the participants argued that they disliked seeing virgin heroines in contemporaries and others said they actually preferred it, because of the whole “first love, last love” thing.

When I write my heroines or even heroes for that matter. I don’t plan out ahead what their sexual history will be, it just seems to “come to me” based on how their character develops and what is “revealed” to me about their past.

My question is, Is it really that horrible to write virgin heroines in this day and age? I mention heroines, because while there are male virgins, they’re quite rare compared to females.

P.S : Any lurkers out there are more than welcome to post. I won’t bite, I swear šŸ˜‰

8 thoughts on “Queen of the Virgins

  1. Ciara Knight says:

    I think there is nothing wrong with this, BUT I have read a book where it didn’t fit. It was an inspirational and you could tell the author had to write her that way. If I write a virgin heroine, which I do often, there is a reason. A life experience or situation that forbids sex. As long as the situation of ther heroine fits the book, there shouldn’t be a problem either way. Writing a virgin drug addict who lives in the streets without any reason, doesn’t work for me. šŸ™‚

  2. Alexandra O'Hurley says:

    In my first two novels, I kept it loose – I never really answered the question but it was sort of assumed that they were not virgins. The third and fourth were virgins – one because of a cloistered upbringing and the other due to environment – men were scarce.

    I think it depends entirely on storyline – there are situations were you can make it fairly realistic. But I have to admit, the 28 year old virgin in a contemporary – I read it and think “Really???”

    Ultimately, you need to be true to the character and how it speaks to you.

    • delilahhunt says:

      Yep. It definitely depends on the storyline. And that’s why I could actually see a 28 year old virgin. Rare, but I’ve actually read one. The lady was a recluse though, but it completely fit the storyline and was realistic. But in general, yeah I don’t think that would work unless a good explanation was given. Not that it’s a bad thing.

  3. Julia Rachel Barrett says:

    I agree with the comments – unless the heroine is very young, there must be a reason, and that reason can certainly be that she’s saving herself for the right man. I do take issue with books where the heroine is gorgeous, desirable, loves the idea of sex, fantasizes about sex, dates, has guys after her, yet somehow manages to make to 28 or 30 with her virginity intact. Just does not compute with me. IMO, authors try to come up with all sorts of excuses, but really and truly, they don’t work for me when the heroine is a mature woman.

  4. Cinquetta says:

    I love vigin heroine or she has less than 5 partners thur out her sexual life. If it more than that I don’t care for the story.

    • delilahhunt says:

      I also don’t care for an overly sexualized woman or man in my romance novel. Nothing wrong with having more than one partner, I just don’t want to read about her numerous one night stands and such in a romance.

Leave a Reply

